GCL South Announces 2018 Soccer All-Star Teams: Moeller’s Ben Hegge, St. Xavier’s Geiser Share Player Of Year Honors

Photo courtesy @MoellerSoccer on Twitter

Photo courtesy @MoellerSoccer on Twitter

The Greater Catholic League South Division is pleased to announce its all-star soccer team for the 2018 season. Members of this prestigious team, along with winners of the categorical awards, were voted on by league coaches at a special meeting held at the conclusion of the regular season.  Moeller senior forward Ben Hegge, who led the league in scoring and helped his team advance to the Division I state final for the first time in school history, and St. Xavier senior forward Gino Geiser, who finished second in the GCL South in scoring and helped his team advance to the regional semifinals, are the GCL South Co-layers of the Year.

Hegge – who has committed to play at the University of Cincinnati – finished with 15 goals and added 10 assists for 40 points in 24 games.  Moeller (19-2-3) lost only twice all season, falling to Dublin Coffman, 3-2, in the regular-season finale, and then making it to the DI state final before losing 1-0 in overtime to Medina.  Geiser helped St. Xavier (13-4-3) win a second straight district championship, scoring 13 goals and adding five assists for 31 total points in 20 games.  Moeller was ranked No. 3 in the final Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association Di state rankings, while St. Xavier was No. 10.   Geiser and Hegge each scored 10 goals during the regular season.

Moeller coach Mike Welker, whose team ended the regular season ranked No. 1 in local soccer polls, won its second straight GCL South league title, set a number of schools records including most victories (19), most shutouts (15) and most consecutive shutouts (seven) in making its first trip to the state tournament, is the Coach of the Year.




Connor Ammon, Elder, FWD, Junior

Connor Andrews, Moeller, CM, Junior

Zach Arnold, La Salle, FWD, Senior

Spencer Bernard, Elder, DEF, Senor

Drew Brown, Elder, GK, Senior

Cal Collins, Moeller, GK, Junior

Gino Geiser, St. Xavier, FWD, Senior

Parker Grinstead, Moeller, CM, Junior

Ach Harvey, La Salle, DEF, Senior

Ben Hegge, Moeller, FWD, Senior

Will McAlister, La Salle, CM, Senior

Carson Owens, Elder, CM, Junior

Matthew Sutton, St. Xavier, CM, Senior

Michael Wampler, St. Xavier, CM, Senior

Craig Wellens, St. Xavier, CM, Senior





Ben Hegge, Moeller

Gino Geiser, St. Xavier



Mike Welker, Moeller




Parker Niehaus, Elder

Josh Trabel, La Salle

Ryan Galanie, Moeller

Nick Greely, St. Xavier