GCL South Well Represented In LaRosa’s Hall Class: Elder’s Florian, St. X’s Mosko And ’76 Moeller FB Team To Be Inducted

By Tom Gamble, GCL South Commissioner

The Greater Catholic League South Division is well represented in the latest class of area student-athletes to be inducted into the prestigious Buddy LaRosa High School  Sports l Hall of Fame.  Former Elder High School quarterback Rob Florian (class of 2004) and 2007 St. Xavier graduate David Mosko are among the six individuals in the latest class announced Friday, while the 1976 Moeller football team is one of the first two teams set to be inducted – joining the 2003 St. Ursula Academy volleyball team.  Both went undefeated during those seasons and won their respective sport state championships.

Also set to be inducted are Dicky Beal, Holmes (1980); Gino Guidugli, Highlands (2001); Emily Taylor, Taylor (2006); and coach Mike Yeagle, Beechwood (1991-2005).

Photos courtesy LarosasMVP.com

Photos courtesy LarosasMVP.com

Florian guided Elder to back-to-back Division I state football championships in 2002 and 2003, helping lead the Panthers to a 28-2 record in those two seasons.  Elder’s only defeats were to perennial national power Louisville  Trinity and Indianapolis Warren Central.  Florian went on to an outstanding football career at the University of Dayton.  Mosko was a member of St. Xavier’s storied swimming program, where he won three state championships as a senior – capturing the 500 freestyle and helping his teammates earn titles in the 200 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay – before attending Stanford University where he would earn All-American honors.

Moeller’s ’76 football team was in the midst of a three-year state championship run under coach Gerry Faust.  The Crusaders, who won Class AAA state titles in 1975, 1976 and 1977, finished a perfect 12-0 that season, including a convincing 43-5 win over Gahanna Lincoln in the state title game at Akron’s Rubber Bowl.  During its three-year state title run, the Crusaders were a combined 36-0.

The class will be officially inducted in a June 2018 ceremony.  Founded in 1975, there are now 269 high school student-athletes who have been inducted over a 43-year period.