Moeller’s McBride Selected First Team All-Ohio: Teammate Pfriem Named To Third Team By Statewide Media

By Tom Gamble, GCL South Commissioner


Moeller senior guard Miles McBride, who has helped guide the Crusaders to a perfect 27-0 record entering Friday’s state semifinals in the Ohio High School Athletic Association Basketball State Tournament, has been named to the Division I All-Ohio boys’ basketball first team that was announced Wednesday in Columbus by a statewide media panel.  The team was selected by member of the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association. 

McBride, who averages 14.1 points, 5.8 rebounds, and a Greater Catholic League South Division-leading 4.1 assists and 2.2 steals, was named to the first team, while teammate and Crusaders’ senior Alec Pfriem was named to the third team.  Pfriem leads the Greater Catholic League South Division in scoring, averaging 15.0 points per game.  He also averages 3.4 assists and 6.3 rebounds to rank second and third in those categories, respectively, in the league. 

The Moeller duo will lead their team against Lakewood St. Edward in the DI Final Four at 6 p.m. Friday at the Jerome C. Schottenstein Center on The Ohio State University campus in Columbus. Olentangy Liberty faces Akron St. Vince-St. Mary in the second semifinal, at 8.  The DI state final is set for 8:30 p.m. Saturday.   Moeller currently owns a 47-game winning streak dating back to December 2017.  The Crusaders are the defending DI state champions and own a 82-4 record the last three seasons. 

McBride has signed to play at West Virginia University, while Pfriem is a Bellarmine University recruit.  Lakota East senior Bash Wieland is the only other Grater Cincinnati player named to the DI teams, earning special mention.   Wieland plans to join Pfriem at Bellarmine this coming season. 



Ben Roderick, Powell Olentangy Liberty, 6-foot-5, sr., 25.9 points per game; VonCameron Davis, Columbus Walnut Ridge, 6-5, jr., 27.5; Devon Grant, Lorain, 6-0, sr., 26.1; Kaleb Martin, Green, 5-9, sr., 19.4; Samari Curtis, Xenia, 6-4, sr., 34.4; Bo Myers, Logan, 6-5, sr., 27.4; Miles McBride, Moeller, 6-2, sr., 14.1; Andre Gordon, Sidney, 6-2, sr., 22.6; Alek West, Sylvania Northview, 6-4, sr., 20.2; Andre Harris, Lyndhurst Brush, 6-3, sr., 17.0. 

Kyle Goessler, Brunswick, 6-2, sr., 22.4; Javohn Garcia, Pickerington Central, 6-3, sr., 20.1; Luke Floriea, Mentor, 5-10, jr., 19.1; Lunden McDay, Akron St, Vincent-St. Mary, 6-3, sr., 16.5; Ra'Heim Moss, Springfield, 6-4, sr., 18.0; Michael Kreill, Vandalia Butler, 6-1, sr., 15.3; Jack Sawyer, Pickerington North, 6-5, soph., 22.2; Josiah Fulcher, Lima Senior, 6-1, jr., 17.1; Eddie Colbert, Toledo Whitmer, 6-6, sr., 20.1; Kade Ruegsegger, Dover, 6-3, jr., 16.2.

Samuel Emich, Copley, 6-6, sr., 16.8; Sencire Harris, North Canton Hoover, 6-4, fr., 20.4; Matt Allocco, Hilliard Bradley, 6-4, jr., 16.3; Dominiq Penn, Dublin Coffman, 6-0, jr., 19.9; Sean Marks, Lewis Center Olentangy, 5-10, sr., 19.8, 6-2, sr., 14.1; Alec PfriemCincinnati Moeller, 6-4, sr., 15.0; Jackie Harris, Toledo St. Francis, 6-7, sr., 21.8; Taevon Pierre-Louis, Lorain, 6-6, sr., 18.0; Eric Hanna, Olmsted Falls, 6-0, sr., 18.8; Anthony Mazzeo, Massillon Jackson, 6-3, sr., 17.1.


Brady Snyder, Canal Winchester; Max Martz, Upper Arlington; Jeremiah Keene, Westerville North; N’Keeley Elmore, Columbus Northland; Bryson Lane, Olentangy Orange; Jordan McMillian, Westerville South; D.J. Dial, Lyndhurst Brush; John Hugley, Lyndhurst Brush; Keaton Williams, Dresden Tri Valley; Ian Sexton, Dover; Jake Maranville, Uniontown Lake; Derrick Anderson, Youngstown Boardman; Julian Jackson, Massillon Perry; Todd Simons, Austintown Fitch; Jayvon Maughmer, Chillicothe; Bash Wieland, Liberty Township Lakota East; Garrett Denbow, Ashland; Devin Williams, Toledo Start. 


Garvin Clarke, Euclid; Kenny Ganley, Brecksville-Broadview Heights; D.J. Harrell, Cleveland East Tech; Dakota Cochran, Shaker Heights; Mike Bekelja; Damion Williams, Willoughby South; Chad Rogers, Mentor; Jordan Soyars, Barberton; D.J. Jones, Copley; Evan Bainbridge, Stow-Munroe Falls; Matt Salopek, Akron Hoban; Jarmond Hogg, Akron Ellet; Kobe Johnson, Canton McKinley; Will Hyde, Massillon Jackson; Christian Parker, Canton GlenOak; Brett Martin, Massillon Washington; Dom McGhee, Warren Harding; 
Caleb Bell, Logan; Brandon Noel, Chillicothe; Jacob Drees, Hilliard Davidson;Ryan Hall, Kettering Fairmont; Ronnie Hampton, Huber Heights Wayne; D'Marco Howard, Hamilton; Max Land, Cincinnati Moeller; Landen Long, Mason; Shaunn Monroe, Fairborn; Mo Njie, Centerville; Tehree Horn, Sylvania Southview; Isaac Elsasser, Bowling Green; Ryan Nunn, Findlay; Max Denman, Whitehouse Anthony Wayne; DaSean Nelson, Toledo Rogers; Sam Clear, Sylvania Northview. 

Samari Curtis, Xenia

Bob Krizancic, Mentor