GCL South Announces 2017 Soccer All-Star Teams

Photo courtesy @MoellerSoccer on Twitter

Photo courtesy @MoellerSoccer on Twitter

Moeller’s Lonneman, Welker Earn Coach, Player Of The Year Awards

 The Greater Catholic League South Division is pleased to announce its all-star soccer team and special award winners for the 2017 season.  Members of this prestigious team, along with winners of the categorical awards, were voted on by league coaches at a special meeting held at the conclusion of the regular season.  Moeller senior center midfielder Will Lonneman, who finished this season tied for first in the GCL South in goals (12) and tied for second in points scored (26), is the GCL South Player of the Year.  Crusaders’ coach Mike Welker, whose team wound up the regular season ranked No. 1 in local Division I polls, won the GCL South championship outright with a 5-0-1 record, and advanced to the district final to finish with a 14-2-3 record and rank among the best season in Moeller soccer history, is the Coach of the Year.  Here is a look at the all-league team, with the players listed in alphabetical order by school, position and class.




Ryan Albrinck, La Salle, CD, Senior

Cal Collins, Moeller, GK, Sophomore

Gino Geiser, St. Xavier, FWD/CM, Junior

Parker Grinstead, Moeller, CM, Sophomore

Dylan Grogan, Moeller, CD, Senior

Eric Groll, Elder, CM, Senior

Alex Hils, Elder, RB/RF, Senior

Bailey Lach, St. Xavier, CD, Senior

Will Lonneman, Moeller, CM, Senior

Justin Milov, La Salle, FWD, FWD

Nathan Neal, St. Xavier, FWD/CM, Senior

Carson Owens, Elder, CF/CAM, Sophomore

Dylan Schraffenberger, La Salle, CM, Senior

Jordan Walter, Moeller, FWD, Junior

Will Watkins, St. Xavier, FWD/OM, Senior



PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Will Lonneman, Moeller

COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Welker, Moeller



Tyler Grinstead, Moeller

Lou Langen, Elder

Evan Paul, La Salle

Will Watkins, St. Xavier